Toggle Menu

Rap Sheet

Links on R&P from around the web

New Order Indefinitely Bars Almost All Travel from Seven Countries

posted on September 25, 2017

The New York Times’s Michael D. Shear reports, “President Trump on Sunday issued a new order indefinitely banning almost all travel to the United States from seven countries, including most of the nations covered by his original travel ban, citing threats to national security posed by letting their citizens into the country.” Beginning next month, most citizens from Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Chad, and North Korea will be banned from entering the United States. Anthony D. Romero, the executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union, said, “The fact that Trump has added North Korea – with few visitors to the U.S. – and a few government officials from Venezuela doesn’t obfuscate the real fact that the administration’s order is still a Muslim ban.”

Read at The New York Times