Trump Curbs Immigrants from 6 Nations in Election-Year Push

The Associated Press’s Colleen Long and Nomaan Merchant report that the Trump administration has announced new travel restrictions for immigrants from Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Eritrea, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania. Long and Merchant write, “It is not a total travel ban, unlike President Donald Trump’s earlier effort that generated outrage around the world for targeting Muslims.” However, Sudan, Kyrgyzstan, and Nigeria all have large Muslim populations. The new rule does not affect nonimmigrant visas.

Read at The Associated Press

© 2011 Religion & Politics